The Country Department Southern Cone (CSS) is responsible for the promotion and development of Bank country strategies and programming in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay.

The department supports the process, negotiation, and administration of regional and country-specific projects and programs; leading and maintaining the relations of the IDB with member countries; supporting the implementation of country-specific operations; promoting and coordinating the use of the funds administered by the Bank or under parallel financing agreements, and monitoring the operation-related procurement activities of Bank borrowers and beneficiaries.

The management team is composed of the manager, the regional economic advisor and the country representatives. CSC is divided in five country offices in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay.

José Luis Lupo Flores

Manager, Southern Cone Country Department


Five Country Offices

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Paraguay
  • Uruguay


Name Office in
Abramian Saboundji, Beatriz Montevideo, Uruguay
Aguero Rodriguez, Hugo Asunción, Paraguay
Amaral de Aguiar, Fernando Brasilia D.F., Brazil
Akabane, Alessandro Brasilia D.F., Brazil
Alonso Arguello, Norma Asunción, Paraguay
Alva Hart, Viviana Buenos Aires, Argentina
Alvarez Domec, Patricia Montevideo, Uruguay
Alves Mendes, Adriano Brasilia D.F., Brazil
Aquino Aguirre, Ruth Asunción, Paraguay
Araujo Ferreira de Souza, Ivanuza Brasilia D.F., Brazil
Arce Pereira, Christian Asunción, Paraguay
Ares, Maria Buenos Aires, Argentina
Arias, Maria Buenos Aires, Argentina
Arraiza, Eduardo Buenos Aires, Argentina
Arrunategui, Paola Brasilia D.F., Brazil
Attademo-Hirt, Maria Asunción, Paraguay
Aulestia Villacis, Adriana Washington D.C., USA
Bachino, Federico Montevideo, Uruguay
Ballerga, Maria Buenos Aires, Argentina
Barca Fernandez, Karina Montevideo, Uruguay

Hello, Welcome to the IDB!

Please join our mailing list by simply entering your email below.